Legal services About the Firm About the team

The forbidden methods of inducement of the client (customer)

The forbidden methods of inducement of the client (customer) (Unconscientiously inducement of the client, fraud of the client, usage of the forbidden methods)

1. The most widespread methods of inducement of the client are the usage of discounts and sales.

In accordance with the requirements of the Law of Ukraine «On Consumer Rights Protection» dated May 12, 1991 No 1023 - XII, the usage of the terms «discount» and «sold out» is possible only in the cases, which are strictly provided by the law.

In accordance with the requirements of the Part 4 of the Article 15 of the Law of Ukraine «On Consumer Rights Protection», the entrepreneur may apply terms «discount» or «reduced price» only in respect with the following requirements:

  • if "discount" is applied to the goods which are sold directly by the entrepreneur who announced a discount;
  • if «discount» or «reduction of the price» is applied within a certain and strictly limited period of time;
  • if the «discount» price of the production is lower than its regular price.

The application of the term «sale out» or of any other similar term, in accordance with the requirements of the Part 5 of the Article 15 of the Law of Ukraine «On Consumer Rights Protection», is allowed only in case of the observance of the following conditions:

  • if the «sale out» is performed in relation to all goods within a certain place or the «sale out» is performed in relation to a clearly defined group of goods located at different places (that means, the «sold out» of the part of goods at one shop is not allowed, but the «sold out» of a group of goods, not all, is allowed all over the chain stores);
  • if the duration of the «sale out» is clearly defined by the time limits;
  • if the prices of goods that are the subject of the «sale out» are lower than regular price of such goods.

This means that the seller is obliged to provide you with information about clearly defined list of goods and services, which are offered with «discount», about period of duration of the discount. Moreover (and the most important) the seller shall give you information (duly documented) about the price of offered goods or service before the implementation of the «discount» or «sale out».

The violation of any of the abovementioned requirements gives you the right to file a request to the authorities, which provide consumer rights protection and ask the official to hold the verification of the transaction and punish the guilty.

2. The usage of the adulterated product.

In accordance with the provisions of the Item 27 of the Article 1 of the Law of Ukraine «On Consumer Rights Protection», products are adulterated if they were made with violation of procedure or with unauthorized usage of a trademark for goods and services as well as with copying of a packaging form, external design or with illegal reproduction of the goods which were made by other person.

The term «adulterated products» is often confused with the concepts of «substitute products» (substitutes, imitators) and «defective goods».

This is not surprising, because substitutes and defective goods are often used with intent of adulteration. 

However, substitutes and defective goods are not adulterated products, if their marking or consignments include actual name and the price of such goods conforms to the quality and to the origin of goods.

In the realities of modern life, each of us at least once faced the purchase of goods under the name of a famous brand, but without relevance to brand-name quality.

Thus dishonest entrepreneurs use well-known, long-standing, widely promoted brand to push up sales by misleading consumers.

In accordance with the provisions of the Article 8 of the Law of Ukraine «On Consumer Rights Protection» in the event of detection, within established warranty period, of goods adulteration, which confirmed by the expert conclusion (if it is necessary), the consumer in accordance with the procedure and limits prescribed by law and on the basis of rules, which are obligatory for parties, or of the contract clauses, has the right to require from seller or manufacturer (at your choice) the following:

  • the cancellation of the agreement and the return the amount of money which was paid for goods;
  • the replacement of the goods for the same product or equivalent from the seller’s (manufacturer) available goods.

Moreover, you shall understand that you need to keep documents, which confirm purchasing of goods, in order to apply the abovementioned methods of protection.

3. Inducement of clients through the online marketplaces.

The online purchase has certain advantages and its popularity is growing by the seconds.

Therefore the number of consumer rights violations increases.

The most popular online trick to mislead the consumers is incorrect registration of sale transactions of goods (that is the first issue that shall hit you up on the idea of a possible fraud), such as:

  • in accordance with information, which is posted on the online markets website the sale is performed by one company, but when you perform transaction the other company (or even nonexistent person which may not be checked by you) makes out the documents;
  • the transaction processing is carried out by the billing without granting of a payment documents;
  • you do not know who has signed the payment document, which is not sealed by the company (enterpriser) of the seller,  whereas, this document is only sealed by the typical stamp, which even you may buy in any stationary shop;
  • the warranty cards are registered by the third unknown company, which has no connection to the transaction of goods;
  • the rejection of deliveryman, who delivers the goods, to provide documents which confirms the existence of the company of the seller.

The purchase of goods which is performed with the abovementioned violations leads to indefensibility of your rights in the event of purchasing of low quality goods.

In addition very often online markets try to mislead you in the part of warranty obligations and offer to pay additional money for the preparation of warranty. However, you shall remember that (in accordance with the Ukrainian legislation) each manufacturer shall provide and actually gives the customer a free warranty.

Some manufacturers offer an extended warranty for a long period and a more detailed list of types of repairing. For such a warranty the manufacturer has the right to take additional funds.

The most important thing, which you shall understand is that all online markets and other markets are obliged to follow the provisions of the Law of Ukraine «On Consumer Rights Protection».

Herewith, you shall not forget the following:

  • you shall check the goods in the presence of the courier;
  • in the presence of the courier you shall check the warranty card;
  • the courier may not refuse to wait while you are examining the goods;
  • in accordance with the Law of Ukraine «On Consumer Rights Protection», if you detect any damage on the product you have the right to claim for reduction of the goods price, free elimination of the defect of the goods or just to refuse the purchase.

4. Unfair advertising.

In accordance with the provisions of the Article 1 of the Law of Ukraine "On Advertising", dated July 3 1996, No 270/96-VR, as the unfair advertising is considered to be the advertising, which misleads or may mislead the consumer, causes damage to people, the state or society as a consequence of inaccurate, untruthful, ambiguity, exaggeration, concealment, violation of time, place and manner of distribution.

As well as the unfair advertising may be considered the following:

  • the advertising, which contains an incorrect comparison of the advertised goods with the goods, which are in circulation, which are produced by the other manufacturers or sold by the other seller;
  • the advertising that touches honor, dignity or business reputation of a person and competitor;
  • advertising, which is an act of unfair competition in accordance with the competition legislation.

Moreover, as the unfair advertising may be considered the advertising, which violates special requirements of the Law of Ukraine «On Advertising». For example if the advertisement violates requirements which concern advertisement of medicines, alcoholic drinks and tobacco, arms sales, and services associated with the involvement of public funds, securities as well as advertisement of the other types of business activities that require a special permit and advertising of reduction of  product prices (sold out) may be also considered as the unfair advertising.

If the advertisement may confuse the consumer (even if such a fact did not take place), it is also considered to be the violation of the Law of Ukraine «On Advertising».

The advertisement, which may confuse the customer, is an advertisement, which gives the consumer expectations which may not be realized by the advertised goods (service).

Whereas, the advertisement is misleading only if such an advertisement concerns specific qualities or capabilities of the goods (service). Conversely the advertisement is not misleading if its statements include general characteristics, such as deodorant effect on men’s attractiveness.

In accordance with the provisions of the Part 1of the Article 26 of the Law of Ukraine «On Advertising», the control over the compliance of the advertising legislation is carried out by the following state authorities:

  • the central executive agency that implements the state policy in the field of state supervision over observance of legislation on protection of consumer rights - in relation to consumer rights protection;
  • the Anti-monopoly Committee of Ukraine – in relation to the observance of legislation on protection of economic competition;
  • the National Council of Television and Radio Broadcasting of Ukraine – in relation to the television and radio organizations of all forms of ownership;
  • the central executive agency which implement the national financial policy – in relation to the advertisement of governmental securities;
  • the National Securities and Stock Market Commission – in relation to the advertisement on the stock market;
  • the central executive agency which implements the national policy in the field of building constructions and architecture – in relation to the residential building construction;
  • the central agency of state supervision and control over observance of legislation on employment - in relation to the advertisement of vacancies.

Услуги
О фирме О сотрудниках

Запрещенные методы завлечения клиента

(Недобросовестное завлечение клиента, обман клиента, использование запрещённых методов)

1. Наиболее распространёнными методами для привлечения клиентов являются использования скидок и распродаж.

В соответствии с требованиями Закона Украины «О защите прав потребителей» от 12.05.1991 года № 1023 XII, употребление терминов – «скидка» и «распродажа» возможно только в строго предусмотренных законом случаях.

Согласно требованиям части 4 статьи 15 Закона Украины «О защите прав потребителей», термины «скидка» или «уменьшенная цена» предприниматель может использовать только при соблюдении следующих условий:

  • если «скидка» используется к продукции, которая реализуется непосредственно предпринимателем, который объявил о скидке;
  • если «скидка» или «уменьшение цены» используется на протяжении определённого и строго ограниченного периода времени;
  • если цена продукции со «скидкой» ниже от её обычной цены.

Употребление термина "распродажа" или любых других аналогичных понятий, согласно требованиям части 5 статьи 15 Закона Украины «О защите прав потребителей», разрешается только в случае соблюдения следующих условий:

  • если осуществляется «распродажа» всех товаров в пределах определённого места либо осуществляется «распродажа» чётко определённой группы товаров в разных местах (то есть, «распродажа» только части товаров в одном магазине запрещена, но разрешается «распродажа» не всех, а только группы товаров по всей сети магазинов);
  • если длительность «распродажи» чётко ограничена во времени;
  • если цены на товар, которые подлежат «распродаже», ниже, чем их обычная цена.

Это означает, что при организации «скидок» и «распродаж» продавец обязан предоставить Вам информацию о четком перечне товаров или услуг, которые предлагаются со «скидкой», о периоде действия скидки и (теперь самое главное) о цене, которая была на этот товар или услугу до момента проведения «скидки» или «распродажи» (с документальным подтверждением).

Нарушение любого из вышеуказанных требований, дает Вам право обратиться в органы по защите прав потребителей с требованием провести проверку данной операции и наказать виновного продавца товара или услуги.

2. Использование фальсифицированной продукции.

Согласно положениям пункта 27 статьи 1 Закона Украины «О защите прав потребителей», фальсифицированной является продукция, изготовленная с нарушением технологии или с неправомерным использованием знака для товаров и услуг, а также с копированием формы, упаковки, внешнего оформления или с неправомерным воспроизведением самого товара, производимого другим лицом.

Понятие «фальсифицирование товары» очень часто путают с понятиями «товары-заменители» (суррогаты, имитаторы) и «дефектные товары».

Это неудивительно, поскольку заменители и дефектные товары широко используются с целью фальсификации.

При этом, заменители и дефектные товары не относятся к фальсифицированным товарам, если на их маркировке или товаросопроводительной документации обозначено их настоящее наименование, а цена соответствует качеству и происхождению.

В реалиях современной жизни каждый из нас хотя бы раз сталкивался с покупкой товара с названием от известного бренда, однако, по качеству не соответствующего ему.

Таким образом, нечистые на руку предприниматели пытаются за счет уже давно раскрученного и известного бренда поднять уровень своих продаж, путём введения потребителей в заблуждение.

Согласно положениям статьи 8 Закона Украины «О защите прав потребителей», в случае выявления в течение установленного гарантийного срока фальсификации товара, подтвержденной заключением эксперта (при необходимости), потребитель имеет право, в порядке и в сроки, установленные законодательством, и на основании обязательных для сторон правил или условий договора, требовать от продавца или производителя (на свой выбор) следующего:

  • расторжения договора и возвращения уплаченной за товар денежной суммы;
  • замены товара на такой же товар или на аналогичный, из числа имеющихся у продавца (производителя) товаров.

Также стоит помнить, что для использования указанных выше способов защиты Вы должны сохранять документы, которые подтверждают приобретение товаров.

3. Завлечение клиентов через интернет магазины.

Покупка товаров в интернете обладает определенными преимуществами и ее популярность растёт не по дням, а по часам.

В связи с этим, увеличивается и количество нарушений прав потребителей.

Самой распространенной уловкой интернет магазинов для обмана покупателя является неправильное оформления сделки по продаже товара (и это в первую очередь должно натолкнуть Вас на мысль о возможном обмане), например:

  • на сайте осуществляется продажа товара/услуги одной компанией, а при оформлении сделки документы выписываются от другой компании (или вообще от несуществующего лица, которое Вы при приеме товара проверить не можете);
  • оформление сделки осуществляется путем выписывания обычной накладной, без предоставления платежных документов;
  • Вам неизвестно, кто поставил подпись на платежном документе, а сами платежные документы не скреплены круглой печатью компании (предпринимателя) продавца, а имеют только отметку с обычным наборным штампом, который даже Вы можете купить в любом канцелярском магазине;
  • гарантийные талоны оформлены третьей неизвестной компанией, не имеющей отношение к сделке по покупке товара;
  • отказ курьера, который доставляет товар, от предоставления документов, подтверждающих существование компании продавца.

Осуществление покупки товара с любым из вышеуказанных нарушений приводит к Вашей невозможности защитить свои права, в случае покупки некачественного товара.

Кроме этого, очень часто, интернет магазины пытаются обмануть Вас в части гарантийных обязательств и предлагают оплатить дополнительные средства за составление гарантии. Однако, Вы должны помнить, что каждый производитель обязан предоставлять (согласно украинского законодательства) и фактически предоставляет покупателю бесплатную гарантию.

Некоторые производители предоставляют расширенную гарантию с большим сроком действия и более детальным списком видов ремонта. За такую гарантию производитель имеет право брать дополнительные средства (но только в этом случае).

Самое главное, Вы должны понимать, что все интернет магазины, так же как и все остальные магазины, обязаны соблюдать нормы Закона Украины «О защите прав потребителей».

При этом, не забывайте следующее:

  • Вы должны проверить товар в присутствии курьера;
  • в присутствии курьера Вы должны проверить гарантийный талон;
  • курьер не имеет права отказаться подождать, пока Вы будете осматривать товар;
  • в случае, если Вы обнаружили повреждения на товаре, Вы имеете право требовать, в соответствии с Законом Украины «О защите прав потребителей», уменьшение цены на товар, безвозмездного устранения недостатка товара либо просто отказаться от товара.

4. Недобросовестная реклама.

В соответствии с положениями статьи 1 Закона Украины «О рекламе» от 03.07.1996 года №270/96 – ВР, недобросовестной рекламой является та реклама, которая вводит или может ввести в заблуждение потребителя рекламы, причинить ущерб лицам, государству или обществу вследствие неточности, неправдивости, двузначности, преувеличения, замалчивания, нарушения требований касательно времени, места и способа распространения.

Недобросовестной также может быть следующая реклама:

  • реклама, содержащая некорректные сравнения рекламируемого товара с находящимися в обороте товарами, которые произведены другими изготовителями или реализуются другими продавцами;
  • реклама, которая задевает честь, достоинство или деловую репутацию лица, в том числе конкурента;
  • реклама, которая является актом недобросовестной конкуренции в соответствии с антимонопольным законодательством.

Кроме этого, недобросовестной может быть признана реклама, которая нарушает содержащиеся в Законе Украины «О рекламе» специальные требования. Например, если такая реклама нарушает требования, касающиеся рекламы лекарственных средств, алкогольных напитков и табачных изделий, продажи оружия, услуг, связанных с привлечением средств населения, ценных бумаг, рекламы других видов предпринимательской деятельности, требующих специального разрешения, и рекламы о снижении цен на продукцию (распродаже).

Считается нарушением Закона Украины «О рекламе», если реклама способна ввести потребителей рекламы в заблуждение (даже, если такого факта не состоялось).

Рекламу следует считать вводящей в заблуждение, если она вызывает у потребителей ожидания, которые не могут быть реализованы товаром (услугой), что рекламируется.

При этом, реклама является вводящей в заблуждение, только если она касается конкретных качеств или возможности товара (услуги). В свою очередь, если рекламное заявление содержит общие характеристики, такие как, влияние дезодоранта на привлекательность мужчины, оно не является таким, что вводит в заблуждение.

В соответствии с положениями части 1 статьи 26 Закона Украины «О рекламе», контроль за соблюдением рекламного законодательства осуществляют следующие государственные органы:

  • центральный орган исполнительной власти, который реализует государственную политику в сфере государственного контроля за соблюдением законодательства о защите прав потребителей, – в отношении защиты прав потребителей;
  • Антимонопольный комитет Украины в отношении соблюдения законодательства о защите экономической конкуренции;
  • Национальный совет Украины по вопросам телевидения и радиовещания – в отношении телерадиоорганизаций всех форм собственности;
  • центральный орган исполнительной власти, который реализует государственную финансовую политику, – в отношении рекламы государственных ценных бумаг;
  • Национальная комиссия по ценным бумагам и фондовому рынку – в отношении рекламы на фондовом рынке;
  • центральный орган исполнительной власти, который реализует государственную политику в сферах строительства, архитектуры, относительно сооружения жилого дома;
  • центральный орган государственного надзора и контроля за соблюдением законодательства о занятости населения – в отношении рекламы о вакансиях.